Dates: Feb 20 – 24, 2009

London Bridge
London Bridge

LONDON, Dec 8, 2008 / FW/ — Created in 1983 and incorporated in 1986, the British Fashion Council first mandate was to promote British fashion and coordinate this promotion through fashion weeks.

Last Sep 15, 2008, Sarah Brown, wife of U.K. Prime Minister Gordon Brown hosted a glittering party at Downing Street for the British Fashion Council who outlined its plans to celebrate 25 years of British Fashion throughout 2009.

The audience of ministers, business leaders, designers and media heard BFC Chairman Harold Tillman announce the launch of the UK’s largest ever fashion fund to support emerging design talent in London, which is predicted to become larger than the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund in New York.

The 25 years celebration will mark 25 years of the British Fashion Council, 25 years of
London Fashion Week in its current form and 25 years of the Designer of the Year Award.

Since its founding, emerging designers have benefited from the works of the British Fashion Council in promoting emerging talents. In October 1984, Katharine Hamnett received the first Designer of the Year Award.

Other Designer of the Year winners since then have become inedible parts of fashion history, some them has become household names worldwide including: Stella McCartney (2007); Giles Deacon (2006); Christopher Bailey (2005); Phoebe Philo (2004); Alexander McQueen (2003, 2001, 1997, 1996); Hussein Chalayan (2000, 1999); John Galliano (1997, 1995, 1994, 1987); John Rocha (1993) Rifat Ozbek (1992, 1988); Vivienne Westwood (1991, 1990); Workers for Freedom (1989); Jasper Conran (1986); Betty Jackson (1984).

News, Views & Runway Shows Reviews