NEW YORK, Jun 9, 2010 / FW/ — With a purse of $130,000 for 2010, the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) awarded 11 scholarships through four separate Educational initiatives: Geoffrey Beene Design Scholarship, Liz Claiborne Fashion Scholarship, CFDA/Teen Vogue Scholarship and CFDA Scholarship.

This year’s 2010 GEOFFREY BEENE $25,000 DESIGN SCHOLAR AWARD goes to: Carmen Chen Wu, Parsons The New School For Design.

A $5,000,000 endowment from the Geoffrey Beene Foundation in 2007 expanded CFDA’s core scholarship program, significantly increasing scholarship grants by $2,500,000. This generous pledge also funded establishment of the merit-based $25,000 GEOFFREY BEENE DESIGN SCHOLAR AWARD that brings the work of this legendary American fashion designer, into classrooms through a specialized instructional program. Students are challenged to look beyond conforming to trends and business restraints in order to advance the art form.

LIZ CLAIBORNE FASHION SCHOLARSHIP $25,000 Scholarship Awarded to: Jusil Carroll, Fashion Institute of Technology.

Named for the designer known as the “working woman’s best friend”, the Liz Claiborne Fashion Scholarship Award was established by her husband and business partner Art Ortenberg in 2008 to help identify a womenswear design student who, given the current culture and world in which today’s woman lives, best addresses her lifestyle and needs for the 21st century.

CFDA/Teen Vogue Scholarship in partnership with Target

$25,000 Target Fashion Scholar Awarded to: Nicole Goh, Deer Park High School in Deer Park, NY

$5,000 CFDA/Teen Vogue Scholarships awarded to: Danielle Perret, Langham Creek High School, Houston, TX. and Remy Renzullo, The Putney School in Putney, VT., originally from Torrington, CT.

The CFDA/Teen Vogue Scholarship was established in 2007 to help foster the design education of promising students seeking Bachelor of Fine Arts degrees at one of CFDA’s 16 participating 4-year colleges, universities, and design schools in the United States.


$10,000 Scholarships Awarded to: Peter Nguyen, Academy of Art University; Yuen Chi Lo, Parsons The New School For Design; Lauren Burnet, Parsons The New School For Design.

$5,000 Scholarships Awarded to: Elin Johansson, Fashion Institute of Technology; Lisa Relth, Academy of Art University; Wei-Li Ting, Academy of Art University (recipient of the Clara Hancox Scholarship Award for Menswear Design).

The CFDA Scholarship Program was created in 1996, to award annual merit-based scholarship grants to students in their junior year of study in a four-year, full-time college level fashion design program.

Since 1996, the CFDA has awarded 141 scholarships totaling $550,000.