Julianne Moore, Francisco Costa, Kylie Minogue
Julianne Moore, Francisco Costa, Kylie Minogue

NEW YORK, Oct 31, 2009 / FW/ — Realized by Calvin Klein Collection and White Columns, the Pruitt Presents: The First Annual Art Awards was held Thursday night at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York with Julianne Moore, Kylie Minogue, and James Franco serving as presenters.

Conceived by Pruitt, Rob Pruitt Presents: The First Annual Art Awards, is a new inaugural awards ceremony to celebrate select individuals, exhibitions, and projects that have made a significant impact on the field of contemporary art during the previous year.

The intimate, invitation-only seated dinner and award ceremony was held in the museum’s rotunda with Pruitt as the evening’s host, the Delusional Downtown Divas presiding over the event as Masters of Ceremonies, and Glenn O’Brien as the announcer.

Actress Julianne Moore and Francisco Costa, the Women’s Creative Director for Calvin Klein Collection, presented the Calvin Klein Collection New Artist of the Year Award to up-and-coming filmmaker and conceptual artist, Ryan Trecartin.

Artist Nate Lowman and Italo Zucchelli, the Men’s Creative Director for Calvin Klein Collection, presented the Solo Show of the Year, Museum Award which was awarded on behalf of Martin Kippenberger for ‘The Problem Perspective.’

For the evening, Calvin Klein Collection wardrobed Rob Pruitt as well as award presenters Kylie Minogue, Julianne Moore, and Cecily Brown, and guests Nate Lowman, Dree Hemingway, Amanda Brooks, Anh Duong, Olivia Chantecaille, Hamish Bowles, Bart Freundlich, Jean Shin, Fiery Furnaces’ Matthew Friedberger and Eleanor Friedberger, and Art Production Fund’s Yvonne Force Villareal, Doreen Remen, and Casey Fremont. Each of the women’s looks were designed by Mr. Costa, and the men’s look were designed by Mr. Zucchelli.

Other notables in attendance included James Franco, Klaus Biesenbach, Richard Armstrong, Mary Heilmann, Joan Jonas, Kasper Konig, Larry Gagosian, Alison Gingeras, Nancy Spector, Jeffrey Deitch, Marian Goodman, Elizabeth Peyton, Marilyn Minter, Peter Brant, Marianne Boesky, Gavin Brown, Massimiliano Gioni, Julie Gilhart, A.M. Homes, Hope Atherton, Stefano Tonchi, Cynthia Rowley, Starlite Randall, Knight Landesman, Christopher Brooks, and Cynthia Plaster Caster.

For more information on the other awards presented and the winners and nominees, please see the corresponding press release or visit: www.guggenheim.org/artawards

Photos by Patrick McMullan / www.patrickmcmullan.com