Francisco Costa, Eva Mendes
Francisco Costa, Eva Mendes

NEW YORK, Oct 23, 2009 / — When you’re hot, you’re hot! Calvin Klein’s Francisco Costa just added another feather in his cup with the 2009 Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt Fashion Design Award.

First launched at the White House in 2000 as a project of the White House Millennium Council, the National Design Awards were established to promote excellence and innovation in design.

The 2009 awards ceremonies was held at the Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City where Mr. Costa was presented the Fashion Design award by actress and Calvin Klein campaign model, Eva Mendes, who was wardrobed in Calvin Klein Collection.

For the evening, Calvin Klein Collection also wardrobed, Paula Zahn, emcee for the night, Caroline Baumann, Acting Director, Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum, and Kathryn Neale Shaffer.

Other notables in attendance included, Desiree Rogers, White House Social Secretary, Andre Balazs, Charlie Rose, Amanda Burden, Jean Shin, Michelle Oka Doner, Richard Meyer and Tom Murry, President and CEO, Calvin Klein, Inc. among others.

The 2009 National Design Awards nominations were solicited from a committee of more than 2,500 designers, educators, journalists, cultural figures, and corporate leaders from every state in the nation.