bfa 2009 logoLONDON, Nov 10, 2009 / — To celebrate the 25th British Fashion Awards, the British Fashion Council (BFC) has introduced a one-off award to recognise an individual who embodies the spirit of London and is an international ambassador for the capital’s fashion industry.

The winner will be announced at the awards ceremony on December 9th at the Royal Courts of Justice.

A list of suggested nominees including Alexa Chung, David Bailey, Erin O’Connor, Kate Moss,
Stella McCartney and Vivienne Westwood have been drawn up by a panel of fashion opinion formers and you can vote for your favourite at

This is the first time that the public has been invited to vote for an award at the fashion industry’s most prestigious awards evening -so ensure your vote is counted.

This year the British Fashion Awards will close the British Fashion Council’s 25th anniversary celebrations. The Awards recognise the most influential people in fashion today and will celebrate the reputation and development of British fashion over the last 25 years.

Other awards that will be presented on the night include the 25th Designer of the Year award, Menswear Designer, Model, Designer Brand and the Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator.

Having been title sponsor of the British Fashion Award’s for four years, Swarovski is once again supporting two awards which recognise and financially reward emerging design talent with the Swarovski Emerging Talent Awards for ready to wear and for accessories.

For more information or to vote go to and click on the London25 link

And just to refresh your memory, in case you have forgotten, here are the 2008 British Fashion Awards winners.

Designer of the Year Luella Bartley
Red Carpet Designer Matthew Williamson
Swarovski Emerging Talent RTW Louise Goldin

Swarovski Emerging Talent Accessories Nicholas Kirkwood
Accessory Designer Rupert Sanderson
Model Jourdan Dunn
Designer Brand Jimmy Choo
BFC Award for Outstanding Achievement Stephen Jones
Bespoke Award Richard James
Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator Tim Walker